Roosevelt Public Library

Online Databases

  • By keeping up with the needs of business researchers worldwide, we have grown ABI/INFORM Complete into the world’s most comprehensive and diverse business database. Not only has the number of journals available in active full text has more than doubled in 3 years, but we have also been adding a whole lot more based on feedback from business researchers into…
  • Academic OneFile is a source of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
  • The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled, The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from…
  • Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, the completely revised African-American History Online offers a fresh new way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the home page to find an entryway into the…
  • The American Indian Experience (AIE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the  United States. The American Indian Experience offers full-text access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. Additionally, the Analyze section provides in-depth discussion of such…
  • American Indian History offers access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, through videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines. With a user-friendly interface, this award-winning database allows for an interactive, multifaceted look at the indigenous peoples of the Americas.…
  • With 7 billion genealogical records from across the globe and millions of family trees, they are the world’s largest online family history resource.
  • Includes Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.
  • Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.  Click Get Access to choose Primary or Secondary access.
  • A source for all grades (Pre-K-12) and all reading abilities. Available at three levels--elementary, middle, and high.  Click Get Access to choose which level.
  • Gale Business Insights: Essentials is a user-friendly business tool that delivers authoritative company and industry information, articles, and statistical data. Business owners, entrepreneurs, marketing professionals, investors, students, and general researchers can explore real-world applications and develop analytical skills. Gale Business Insights: Essentials features easy-to-search rich content, a user-friendly interface, and robust analytical tools.
  • Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots…
  • Career Cruising is a comprehensive and interactive career guidance resource that provides the information you need to make the right career choice.
  • Provides access to business and technical publications in the computer, electronics, and telecommunications industries.
  • This resource enables consumers to make better purchasing decisions on the products they are shopping for. Whether a user is looking to find the best deal on an LCD TV, or researching the top-recommended used vehicles, ConsumerReports.org provides ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice for thousands of products and services.
  • Cypress Resume is the simplest, most effective tool for resume creation on the market today. Specifically designed for job seekers skittish about writing, Cypress Resume allows anyone to create a professional resume—one that will stand out to potential employers—in a matter of minutes.
  • Primary Search contains full-text for more than 60 elementary school magazines.  In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines.  Full-text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets.
  • This collection has more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports.  Provides full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing.  It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
  • Encyclopedia Americana is international in scope and is known for its detailed coverage of American and Canadian geography and history. It is also strong in biography and scientific and technical subjects.
  • The Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopedia.  It is continuously updated and is regarded as one of the most scholarly of encyclopedias. Home Access
  • This database bridges theory with practice, covering a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students, and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans, and tips from successful entrepreneurs.  A wide range of formats is available from video to downloadable Word and Excel files, as well as traditional…
  • Resource for academic research includes scholarly journals and selected general interest titles in a wide variety of subjects.
  • Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s new interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
  • Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s new interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
  • Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s new interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
  • Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s new interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
  • The magazines everybody knows and loves. With Flipster, it’s simple to select your favorite digital magazines from the Flipster newsstand and start reading.
  • Freegal® is a free music service from your library. All you need is your library card number and possibly a PIN if your library utilizes them. Freegal offers access to about 9 million songs, including Sony Music’s catalog of legendary artists, and over 15,000 music videos. In total the collection is comprised of music from over 28,000 labels with music…
  • General Onefile is a one-stop source for finding news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature, art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
  • 24/7 access to a wide range of full-text titles, indexes, and abstracts from prestigious general-interest sources. Integrates magazines, newspaper articles, children's magazines, almanacs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, reference books, and more. Includes more than 4,000 titles in full text.  Users will find articles on current events, business and industry trends, arts and sciences, popular culture, sports, hobbies, and more.
  • Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content – with archives that stretch back to the 1980s – from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. It provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia,…
  • This database provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
  • Combining full-text coverage for more than 550 journals with over 4,500 doctoral dissertations and theses, this database provides reliable information on a wide range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business and personnel management, ethics, economics, and public-health administration. Home Access Link
  • Provides over 160 full-text journals in medicine, nursing, allied and consumer health. Includes full-text reference books, pamphlets, overviews of clinical topics, and indexing and abstracts for over 1500 additional titles covering patient and consumer health information.  
  • HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S.federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content. This online database is an essential collection of unique material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Researchers can use HeritageQuest Online to find their ancestors,…
  • Features the full text of more than 650 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books, as well as nearly 60 leading history periodicals; historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps; and hours of historical film and video.  
  • Bringing you hundreds of thousands of movies, full music albums, audiobooks and more, hoopla is a revolutionary digital service made possible by your local library. Simple to access and use, without the hassle of having to return the items you’ve borrowed, all you need is your library card, a web browser, smart phone or tablet to get started. Here's a list…
  • Features profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, Hoover’s Company Records provides easy access to the most thorough and up-to-date business information available. This comprehensive database gives users the whole picture, including: Company overview, Company history, Officers and board members, Competitors, Products and operations, Auditors, Rankings, Related industry information, and Historical financials.
  • This electronic resource is the first to provide indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines, not just translations. Other features include a thesaurus and title annotations in both English and Spanish. The bilingual approach also helps non-Spanish speaking staff, students of Spanish and non-native speakers. Este recurso electrónico es la primera en facilitar la indexación, las imágenes y…
  • This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields, eliminating random searching through newspaper archives. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Financial Times (London), The…
  • Online learning is one of the most effective ways to keep your skills sharp! The Metrix Learning system provides expert approved training in a variety of workplace skills. Take self-paced courses or watch short videos online 24/7 from any computer or tablet! Looking for a job? Update your skills for free with Metrix Learning! Learn more! Earn course certificates and…
  • Issues and Controversies helps researchers understand the crucial issues we face today, exploring more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
  • This database builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped the United States by exploring the issues as the key players saw them. Each in-depth exploration delivers dynamic, concise, and balanced coverage that provides the background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for the major topics in every American history curriculum.
  • JobNow, powered by Brainfuse, provides live interactive online help combined with online resources to guide you through the necessary tasks to get a job.
  • Kids InfoBits is a database for students in kindergarten through grade 5. It features a kid-friendly graphic interface with full-text content from elementary reference sources and magazines. Kids InfoBits covers geography, current events, the arts and sciences, people, government, history, and more.
  • This comprehensive, informative, easy to use online resource  marks the first-ever database dedicated to the history and  culture of Latinos – the largest and fastest-growing group in the U.S. The Latino American Experience features over 200 volumes of unique content, including Spanish language content and hundreds of primary source documents: maps, images, audio clips, interviews, music files, speeches, documents, and…
  • Create, edit, and save hundreds of everyday personal and business legal documents.  Enter vital information once and then Law Depot builds the form needed and puts patron-entered information into the proper locations within the document. Each form is built to state standards to assure you get the form ready for notary, filing, and other local transactions.  Technical support is available…
  • Learning Express Library is an interactive online learning platform featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math, for all ages.  
  • Video courses to help you learn the basics of your computer.
  • Powerful tools and expert guidance to help you find a great job.
  • LitFinder provides access to primary literature content, including the full-text of poems, short stories, essays, speeches, and plays. Some works may only be available as citations or excerpts.  LitFinder also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.  The database is international in scope and covers all time periods.
  • Happy learners around the globe have used Mango to learn new languages, connect with new cultures, and broaden their horizons.
  • ProQuest National Newspapers Premier includes a balance of national and regional newspapers chosen for their journalistic excellence and regional representation. All titles are available in full text. Papers include national titles such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post along with a selection of titles from across the U.S. such as the South Florida…
  • Just log on to www.NOVELNEWYORK.ORG with your New York driver license, non-driver ID, or local library card.  This online library has accessible information 24 HOURS A DAY, 7 DAYS A WEEK from your desktop. A wide variety of resources − books, magazines, newspapers, research and reference sources and more are available to New York State residents with NO FEES 24 hours…
  • Includes articles from newspapers around New York State including: Glens Falls Post-Star, New York Times, New York Observer, New York Post, and Newsday.
  • ProQuest provides the most comprehensive resource for nearly every kind of researcher seeking news information from The New York Times.  Researchers can access news reports and editorials making The New York Times more open to discovery.
  • Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
  • Full-text of the Long Island daily newspaper Newsday from 1985 to present.  
  • Includes full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the Long Island newspaper of record. Coverage runs from 1940 through 1985. Home Access Link
  • ProQuest Newsstand offers unparalleled access to the fulltext of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. ProQuest Newsstand is easily searchable and has archives going back to the 1980’s from some newspapers. The database includes backfile for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each newspaper. Home Access…
  • NoveList is the premiere database of reading recommendations, available through libraries around the world. It is a comprehensive source of information about books that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more.
  • NoveList K-8 is a database about books specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. Opposing Viewpoints in Context is cross-curricular and supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
  • Free collection of downloadable media includes both eBooks and audiobooks which can be used with a full variety of digital devices. Depending on your device, you have the ability to view Adobe ePub, PDF eBooks, or Amazon eBooks for Kindle as well as listen to OverDrive MP3 audiobooks.
  • Search professional magazines and periodicals related to all aspects of education and education-related issues. Home Access Link
  • Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use this database to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports. A large number of industries, activities, and organizations are…
  • Learn 80 languages in any of 50 languages, for a total of 4,000 available course combinations. Plus, ESL for 50 non-English languages.
  • Aimed at middle school and high school students, Research in Context has content based on national curriculum standards in major subject areas such as history, literature, science and social studies.
  • From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. ProQuest Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals; plus 15 supplemental subject-specific modules.
  • An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • Sesame Workshop, has partnered with Impelsys to convert many Sesame Street books into eBooks. Sesame Workshop now offers content in the most innovative, engaging and user friendly formats appealing to both children and their parents. The online portal offers more than one hundred eBooks with new titles being added on a regular basis. The eBooks feature audio narration, interactivity and…
  • Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC) is designed to help students — in high school, graduate school, and specialty school and beyond — make their future education decisions easier. TERC is loaded with information on colleges, technical schools, practice entrance exams, and certification and professional license exams that show students what to expect and how to prepare for the next…
  • TumbleBookCloud is a collection of videos and chapter books in categories which include: Ebooks, Read-Alongs, Graphic Novels, Videos (from National Geographic!), and Audio Books. Our books feature adjustable text sizes, full narration, and a read-along function which highlights text as it is read. These features make TumbleBookCloud a great tool for reluctant readers and ESL students. Plus, all these options…
  • TumbleBookCloud Junior is our collection of early reader chapter books, children’s classics, graphic novels, children’s audio books and new National Geographic videos – many of which are paired with our e-books – a perfect complement to support Common Core Curriculum!
  • TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach young children the joys of reading in a format they’ll love.
  • Online tutors 7 days a week from 2p - 10p.  Live 1-to-1 tutoring in : Math, Reading, Writing, English, Science, Social Studies,Test Prep, Job Prep, ESL/ELL and Citizenship.  Also SAT/ACT Essentials. Library card required for access at home as well as in library.
  • Gale’s U.S. History In Context is the premier online resource providing a complete overview of America’s past and covers the most studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. U.S. History In Context brings a personal perspective to history with thousands of rare and vital primary source documents along with full-text newspapers and periodicals, and videos and…
  • Universal Class users register online, participate in the classes online at their own pace, correspond with instructors online and have up to six months to complete an individual class.
  • ProQuest provides the most comprehensive resource for nearly every kind of researcher seeking news information from The Wall Street Journal.  Researchers can access news reports and editorials making The Wall Street Journal more open to discovery.
  • Gale’s World History In Context is the premier online resource that reaches back to the ancient world – and forward to today’s headlines – to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures that have shaped the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable references and multimedia content put this vast topic into context for students and researchers.
  • Zinio is the ultimate app for magazine lovers, with digital magazines for iPad, iPhone, Android, Mac & PC. News may break elsewhere - stories live on Zinio.

Careers

  • Gale Business Insights: Essentials is a user-friendly business tool that delivers authoritative company and industry information, articles, and statistical data. Business owners, entrepreneurs, marketing professionals, investors, students, and general researchers can explore real-world applications and develop analytical skills. Gale Business Insights: Essentials features easy-to-search rich content, a user-friendly interface, and robust analytical tools.
  • Cypress Resume is the simplest, most effective tool for resume creation on the market today. Specifically designed for job seekers skittish about writing, Cypress Resume allows anyone to create a professional resume—one that will stand out to potential employers—in a matter of minutes.
  • JobNow, powered by Brainfuse, provides live interactive online help combined with online resources to guide you through the necessary tasks to get a job.
  • Learning Express Library is an interactive online learning platform featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math, for all ages.  
  • Online learning is one of the most effective ways to keep your skills sharp! The Metrix Learning system provides expert approved training in a variety of workplace skills. Take self-paced courses or watch short videos online 24/7 from any computer or tablet! Looking for a job? Update your skills for free with Metrix Learning! Learn more! Earn course certificates and…
  • Create, edit, and save hundreds of everyday personal and business legal documents.  Enter vital information once and then Law Depot builds the form needed and puts patron-entered information into the proper locations within the document. Each form is built to state standards to assure you get the form ready for notary, filing, and other local transactions.  Technical support is available…

Art & Music

  • Freegal® is a free music service from your library. All you need is your library card number and possibly a PIN if your library utilizes them. Freegal offers access to about 9 million songs, including Sony Music’s catalog of legendary artists, and over 15,000 music videos. In total the collection is comprised of music from over 28,000 labels with music…
  • Bringing you hundreds of thousands of movies, full music albums, audiobooks and more, hoopla is a revolutionary digital service made possible by your local library. Simple to access and use, without the hassle of having to return the items you’ve borrowed, all you need is your library card, a web browser, smart phone or tablet to get started. Here's a list…

Biography

  • LitFinder provides access to primary literature content, including the full-text of poems, short stories, essays, speeches, and plays. Some works may only be available as citations or excerpts.  LitFinder also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.  The database is international in scope and covers all time periods.

Children's Database

  • Primary Search contains full-text for more than 60 elementary school magazines.  In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines.  Full-text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets.
  • NoveList K-8 is a database about books specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers.
  • Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s new interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
  • Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s new interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
  • Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s new interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
  • Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.  Click Get Access to choose Primary or Secondary access.

Computers

Ebooks & Audiobooks

  • Bringing you hundreds of thousands of movies, full music albums, audiobooks and more, hoopla is a revolutionary digital service made possible by your local library. Simple to access and use, without the hassle of having to return the items you’ve borrowed, all you need is your library card, a web browser, smart phone or tablet to get started. Here's a list…
  • Free collection of downloadable media includes both eBooks and audiobooks which can be used with a full variety of digital devices. Depending on your device, you have the ability to view Adobe ePub, PDF eBooks, or Amazon eBooks for Kindle as well as listen to OverDrive MP3 audiobooks.

Encyclopedia & Dictionaries

  • The Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopedia.  It is continuously updated and is regarded as one of the most scholarly of encyclopedias. Home Access
  • Encyclopedia Americana is international in scope and is known for its detailed coverage of American and Canadian geography and history. It is also strong in biography and scientific and technical subjects.

Finance and Companies

  • By keeping up with the needs of business researchers worldwide, we have grown ABI/INFORM Complete into the world’s most comprehensive and diverse business database. Not only has the number of journals available in active full text has more than doubled in 3 years, but we have also been adding a whole lot more based on feedback from business researchers into…
  • Features profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, Hoover’s Company Records provides easy access to the most thorough and up-to-date business information available. This comprehensive database gives users the whole picture, including: Company overview, Company history, Officers and board members, Competitors, Products and operations, Auditors, Rankings, Related industry information, and Historical financials.

Foreign Languages

  • Happy learners around the globe have used Mango to learn new languages, connect with new cultures, and broaden their horizons.
  • Learn 80 languages in any of 50 languages, for a total of 4,000 available course combinations. Plus, ESL for 50 non-English languages.

Genealogy

  • With 7 billion genealogical records from across the globe and millions of family trees, they are the world’s largest online family history resource.
  • HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S.federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content. This online database is an essential collection of unique material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Researchers can use HeritageQuest Online to find their ancestors,…

General Reference

  • Happy learners around the globe have used Mango to learn new languages, connect with new cultures, and broaden their horizons.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. Opposing Viewpoints in Context is cross-curricular and supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
  • This resource enables consumers to make better purchasing decisions on the products they are shopping for. Whether a user is looking to find the best deal on an LCD TV, or researching the top-recommended used vehicles, ConsumerReports.org provides ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice for thousands of products and services.

Health & Medicine

  • This database provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

History

  • The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled, The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from…
  • The American Indian Experience (AIE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the  United States. The American Indian Experience offers full-text access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. Additionally, the Analyze section provides in-depth discussion of such…
  • This comprehensive, informative, easy to use online resource  marks the first-ever database dedicated to the history and  culture of Latinos – the largest and fastest-growing group in the U.S. The Latino American Experience features over 200 volumes of unique content, including Spanish language content and hundreds of primary source documents: maps, images, audio clips, interviews, music files, speeches, documents, and…
  • Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
  • American Indian History offers access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, through videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines. With a user-friendly interface, this award-winning database allows for an interactive, multifaceted look at the indigenous peoples of the Americas.…

Job Resources

  • Cypress Resume is the simplest, most effective tool for resume creation on the market today. Specifically designed for job seekers skittish about writing, Cypress Resume allows anyone to create a professional resume—one that will stand out to potential employers—in a matter of minutes.
  • JobNow, powered by Brainfuse, provides live interactive online help combined with online resources to guide you through the necessary tasks to get a job.
  • Online tutors 7 days a week from 2p - 10p.  Live 1-to-1 tutoring in : Math, Reading, Writing, English, Science, Social Studies,Test Prep, Job Prep, ESL/ELL and Citizenship.  Also SAT/ACT Essentials. Library card required for access at home as well as in library.

Literature & Criticism

  • Academic OneFile is a source of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
  • LitFinder provides access to primary literature content, including the full-text of poems, short stories, essays, speeches, and plays. Some works may only be available as citations or excerpts.  LitFinder also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.  The database is international in scope and covers all time periods.

News

  • ProQuest provides the most comprehensive resource for nearly every kind of researcher seeking news information from The New York Times.  Researchers can access news reports and editorials making The New York Times more open to discovery.

Newspaper & Magazines

  • General Onefile is a one-stop source for finding news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature, art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
  • This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields, eliminating random searching through newspaper archives. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Financial Times (London), The…
  • Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
  • Full-text of the Long Island daily newspaper Newsday from 1985 to present.  
  • ProQuest Newsstand offers unparalleled access to the fulltext of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. ProQuest Newsstand is easily searchable and has archives going back to the 1980’s from some newspapers. The database includes backfile for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each newspaper. Home Access…
  • From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. ProQuest Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals; plus 15 supplemental subject-specific modules.
  • The magazines everybody knows and loves. With Flipster, it’s simple to select your favorite digital magazines from the Flipster newsstand and start reading.
  • Includes articles from newspapers around New York State including: Glens Falls Post-Star, New York Times, New York Observer, New York Post, and Newsday.
  • ProQuest provides the most comprehensive resource for nearly every kind of researcher seeking news information from The New York Times.  Researchers can access news reports and editorials making The New York Times more open to discovery.

Online Resources

  • With 7 billion genealogical records from across the globe and millions of family trees, they are the world’s largest online family history resource.
  • Gale Business Insights: Essentials is a user-friendly business tool that delivers authoritative company and industry information, articles, and statistical data. Business owners, entrepreneurs, marketing professionals, investors, students, and general researchers can explore real-world applications and develop analytical skills. Gale Business Insights: Essentials features easy-to-search rich content, a user-friendly interface, and robust analytical tools.
  • Freegal® is a free music service from your library. All you need is your library card number and possibly a PIN if your library utilizes them. Freegal offers access to about 9 million songs, including Sony Music’s catalog of legendary artists, and over 15,000 music videos. In total the collection is comprised of music from over 28,000 labels with music…
  • Happy learners around the globe have used Mango to learn new languages, connect with new cultures, and broaden their horizons.
  • NoveList K-8 is a database about books specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. Opposing Viewpoints in Context is cross-curricular and supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
  • Learn 80 languages in any of 50 languages, for a total of 4,000 available course combinations. Plus, ESL for 50 non-English languages.
  • ProQuest Newsstand offers unparalleled access to the fulltext of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. ProQuest Newsstand is easily searchable and has archives going back to the 1980’s from some newspapers. The database includes backfile for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each newspaper. Home Access…
  • Cypress Resume is the simplest, most effective tool for resume creation on the market today. Specifically designed for job seekers skittish about writing, Cypress Resume allows anyone to create a professional resume—one that will stand out to potential employers—in a matter of minutes.
  • JobNow, powered by Brainfuse, provides live interactive online help combined with online resources to guide you through the necessary tasks to get a job.

Recursos en Espanol

  • This electronic resource is the first to provide indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines, not just translations. Other features include a thesaurus and title annotations in both English and Spanish. The bilingual approach also helps non-Spanish speaking staff, students of Spanish and non-native speakers. Este recurso electrónico es la primera en facilitar la indexación, las imágenes y…
  • This comprehensive, informative, easy to use online resource  marks the first-ever database dedicated to the history and  culture of Latinos – the largest and fastest-growing group in the U.S. The Latino American Experience features over 200 volumes of unique content, including Spanish language content and hundreds of primary source documents: maps, images, audio clips, interviews, music files, speeches, documents, and…

Science

  • Academic OneFile is a source of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
  • An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Student Resources

  • Academic OneFile is a source of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
  • The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled, The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from…
  • The American Indian Experience (AIE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the  United States. The American Indian Experience offers full-text access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. Additionally, the Analyze section provides in-depth discussion of such…
  • Primary Search contains full-text for more than 60 elementary school magazines.  In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines.  Full-text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets.
  • The Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopedia.  It is continuously updated and is regarded as one of the most scholarly of encyclopedias. Home Access
  • Encyclopedia Americana is international in scope and is known for its detailed coverage of American and Canadian geography and history. It is also strong in biography and scientific and technical subjects.
  • This comprehensive, informative, easy to use online resource  marks the first-ever database dedicated to the history and  culture of Latinos – the largest and fastest-growing group in the U.S. The Latino American Experience features over 200 volumes of unique content, including Spanish language content and hundreds of primary source documents: maps, images, audio clips, interviews, music files, speeches, documents, and…
  • LitFinder provides access to primary literature content, including the full-text of poems, short stories, essays, speeches, and plays. Some works may only be available as citations or excerpts.  LitFinder also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.  The database is international in scope and covers all time periods.
  • NoveList K-8 is a database about books specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers.
  • From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. ProQuest Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals; plus 15 supplemental subject-specific modules.

Technology

  • By keeping up with the needs of business researchers worldwide, we have grown ABI/INFORM Complete into the world’s most comprehensive and diverse business database. Not only has the number of journals available in active full text has more than doubled in 3 years, but we have also been adding a whole lot more based on feedback from business researchers into…
  • Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use this database to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports. A large number of industries, activities, and organizations are…
  • Includes full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the Long Island newspaper of record. Coverage runs from 1940 through 1985. Home Access Link
  • Sesame Workshop, has partnered with Impelsys to convert many Sesame Street books into eBooks. Sesame Workshop now offers content in the most innovative, engaging and user friendly formats appealing to both children and their parents. The online portal offers more than one hundred eBooks with new titles being added on a regular basis. The eBooks feature audio narration, interactivity and…
  • TumbleBookCloud is a collection of videos and chapter books in categories which include: Ebooks, Read-Alongs, Graphic Novels, Videos (from National Geographic!), and Audio Books. Our books feature adjustable text sizes, full narration, and a read-along function which highlights text as it is read. These features make TumbleBookCloud a great tool for reluctant readers and ESL students. Plus, all these options…
  • TumbleBookCloud Junior is our collection of early reader chapter books, children’s classics, graphic novels, children’s audio books and new National Geographic videos – many of which are paired with our e-books – a perfect complement to support Common Core Curriculum!

Testing & Kids

  • Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC) is designed to help students — in high school, graduate school, and specialty school and beyond — make their future education decisions easier. TERC is loaded with information on colleges, technical schools, practice entrance exams, and certification and professional license exams that show students what to expect and how to prepare for the next…

Testing & Learning

  • Happy learners around the globe have used Mango to learn new languages, connect with new cultures, and broaden their horizons.
  • Learning Express Library is an interactive online learning platform featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math, for all ages.  

Adult Zone

  • By keeping up with the needs of business researchers worldwide, we have grown ABI/INFORM Complete into the world’s most comprehensive and diverse business database. Not only has the number of journals available in active full text has more than doubled in 3 years, but we have also been adding a whole lot more based on feedback from business researchers into…
  • Academic OneFile is a source of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
  • The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled, The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from…
  • The American Indian Experience (AIE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the  United States. The American Indian Experience offers full-text access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. Additionally, the Analyze section provides in-depth discussion of such…
  • With 7 billion genealogical records from across the globe and millions of family trees, they are the world’s largest online family history resource.
  • Gale Business Insights: Essentials is a user-friendly business tool that delivers authoritative company and industry information, articles, and statistical data. Business owners, entrepreneurs, marketing professionals, investors, students, and general researchers can explore real-world applications and develop analytical skills. Gale Business Insights: Essentials features easy-to-search rich content, a user-friendly interface, and robust analytical tools.
  • The Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopedia.  It is continuously updated and is regarded as one of the most scholarly of encyclopedias. Home Access
  • Encyclopedia Americana is international in scope and is known for its detailed coverage of American and Canadian geography and history. It is also strong in biography and scientific and technical subjects.
  • Freegal® is a free music service from your library. All you need is your library card number and possibly a PIN if your library utilizes them. Freegal offers access to about 9 million songs, including Sony Music’s catalog of legendary artists, and over 15,000 music videos. In total the collection is comprised of music from over 28,000 labels with music…
  • General Onefile is a one-stop source for finding news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature, art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

Teen Territory

  • The Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopedia.  It is continuously updated and is regarded as one of the most scholarly of encyclopedias. Home Access
  • Encyclopedia Americana is international in scope and is known for its detailed coverage of American and Canadian geography and history. It is also strong in biography and scientific and technical subjects.
  • This comprehensive, informative, easy to use online resource  marks the first-ever database dedicated to the history and  culture of Latinos – the largest and fastest-growing group in the U.S. The Latino American Experience features over 200 volumes of unique content, including Spanish language content and hundreds of primary source documents: maps, images, audio clips, interviews, music files, speeches, documents, and…
  • Happy learners around the globe have used Mango to learn new languages, connect with new cultures, and broaden their horizons.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. Opposing Viewpoints in Context is cross-curricular and supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
  • Learn 80 languages in any of 50 languages, for a total of 4,000 available course combinations. Plus, ESL for 50 non-English languages.
  • From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. ProQuest Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals; plus 15 supplemental subject-specific modules.
  • An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • Career Cruising is a comprehensive and interactive career guidance resource that provides the information you need to make the right career choice.
  • Learning Express Library is an interactive online learning platform featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math, for all ages.  

The Black Heritage Collection

  • The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled, The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from…
  • Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, the completely revised African-American History Online offers a fresh new way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the home page to find an entryway into the…

Kids Zone

  • Primary Search contains full-text for more than 60 elementary school magazines.  In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines.  Full-text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets.
  • The Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopedia.  It is continuously updated and is regarded as one of the most scholarly of encyclopedias. Home Access
  • Encyclopedia Americana is international in scope and is known for its detailed coverage of American and Canadian geography and history. It is also strong in biography and scientific and technical subjects.
  • NoveList K-8 is a database about books specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers.
  • An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • Sesame Workshop, has partnered with Impelsys to convert many Sesame Street books into eBooks. Sesame Workshop now offers content in the most innovative, engaging and user friendly formats appealing to both children and their parents. The online portal offers more than one hundred eBooks with new titles being added on a regular basis. The eBooks feature audio narration, interactivity and…
  • TumbleBookCloud is a collection of videos and chapter books in categories which include: Ebooks, Read-Alongs, Graphic Novels, Videos (from National Geographic!), and Audio Books. Our books feature adjustable text sizes, full narration, and a read-along function which highlights text as it is read. These features make TumbleBookCloud a great tool for reluctant readers and ESL students. Plus, all these options…
  • TumbleBookCloud Junior is our collection of early reader chapter books, children’s classics, graphic novels, children’s audio books and new National Geographic videos – many of which are paired with our e-books – a perfect complement to support Common Core Curriculum!
  • TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach young children the joys of reading in a format they’ll love.
  • Gale’s U.S. History In Context is the premier online resource providing a complete overview of America’s past and covers the most studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. U.S. History In Context brings a personal perspective to history with thousands of rare and vital primary source documents along with full-text newspapers and periodicals, and videos and…

TODAY'S HOURS

View All Hours

Monday's Hours

9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Day Open Close
Sunday Closed
Monday 9:00 AM 8:00 PM
Tuesday 9:00 AM 8:00 PM
Wednesday 12:00 PM 8:00 PM
Thursday 9:00 AM 8:00 PM
Friday 9:00 AM 5:00 PM
Saturday 9:00 AM 1:00 PM

Current Newsletter

View All