21st Century Explorer

Provides online reference and learning tools for students who read below grade level, are dealing with specific learning problems, or are at risk of falling behind. This user-friendly collection contains all of the resources that students need including encyclopedias, an atlas, historic timelines, a dictionary, news, and other essential learning tools. 21st-Century Explorer is ideal for reluctant readers, ELL and ESL students, and adult literacy students.

Database Link| Home Access Link

A to Z the USA

Contains cultural, geographic, historical and political information on all 50 states and its territories.

Database Link

A to Z World Culture

Information on the customs, cultures, travel, communications, money, climate and more of 175 countries.

Database Link

ABI Research

ABI Research is a market intelligence company specializing in global connectivity and emerging technology.

Database Link

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry

With hundreds of additional full-text titles, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry is a source of major trade and industry news. It includes in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends, and other topics.

Database Link| Home Access Link

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile is a source of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Database Link

African American Experience

The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled, The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.

Database Link | Home Access Link

American Indian Experience

The American Indian Experience (AIE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. The American Indian Experience offers full-text access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. Additionally, the Analyze section provides in-depth discussion of such topics as “Cultural Depictions of Native Americans” and “Westward Expansion’s Impact on Native America,” with analysis provided by leading Native American Studies scholars.

Database Link | Home Access Link

Ancestry.com

With 7 billion genealogical records from across the globe and millions of family trees, they are the world’s largest online family history resource.

Database Link

Annals of American History

Annals of American History Online explores the rich and varied history of the United States.  Provides a year-by-year documentary of American thought and action.  Read the original words of more than 1,500 authors who made and analyzed American history through their speeches, writings, memoirs, poems, and interviews.

Database Link| Home Access Link

Black News

ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts.  Examine major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explore everyday life as written in the Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, and Cleveland Call and Post.

Database Link

Bookflix

bookflix-logoScholastic BookFlix is a new online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to build a love of reading and learning. The engaging way to link fact and fiction, BookFlix reinforces early reading skills and introduces children to a world of knowledge and exploration.

 

 

Library Database Link

Remote Database Link

Buisness Dateline

Business Dateline provides the full text of major news and feature stories from 550 regional business publications from throughout the United States and Canada. Regional business activities and trends are covered in the file, with particular emphasis on economic conditions in selected cities, states, or regions, as well as mergers, acquisitions, company executives, new products, and competitive intelligence.

Database Link| Home Access Link

Business & Company Resource Center

Business & Company Resource Center provides access to a wide variety of global business information in a single source.  It enables users to research business case studies, competitive intelligence, and career and investment opportunities.

Database Link

Career Crusing

Career Cruising is a comprehensive and interactive career guidance resource that provides the information you need to make the right career choice.

Database Link

Credo Reference

Credo Reference provides full-text online versions of nearly 1200 published reference works from more than 70 publishers in every major subject, including general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Database Link

Dice

Dice, a Dice Holdings, Inc. service, is the leading career site for technology and engineering professionals.

Database Link

Discovering Collection

Aimed at middle school and high school students, Discovering Collection has content based on national curriculum standards in major subject areas such as history, literature, science and social studies.

Database Link

Ebsco A to Z

EBSCO A-to-Z is the most complete Web-based tool for organizing and providing links to all of our library’s electrnoc resources, including e-journals, titles in full-text databases and e-journal packages, and e-books. A-to-Z offers users a “one-stop” search of our library’s e-collection, with easy navigation to full-text content.

Database Link

EBSCO Primary Search

Primary Search contains full-text for more than 60 elementary school magazines.  In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines.  Full-text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets.

Database Link

Enclylopedia Britannica

The Encyclopædia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia.  It is continuously updated and is regarded as one of the most scholarly of encyclopaedias.

Database Link| Home Access Link

Encyclopedia Americana

Encyclopedia Americana is international in scope and is known for its detailed coverage of American and Canadian geography and history. It is also strong in biography and scientific and technical subjects.

Database Link

Freedomflix

freedomflixFeaturing dynamic e-books of the Children’s Press best-selling Cornerstones of Freedom series that include embedded popup features such as maps, timelines, virtual tour clips, primary source videos and audio clips history comes to life with FreedomFlix!

Library Database Link

Remote Database Link

 

General OneFile

General Onefile is a one-stop source for finding news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature, art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

Database Link

Health & Wellness Resource Center

This database provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

Database Link

Health Reference Center Academic

Provides over 160 full-text journals in medicine, nursing, allied and consumer health. Includes full-text reference books, pamphlets, overviews of clinical topics, and indexing and abstracts for over 1500 additional titles covering patient and consumer health information.

Database Link

HeritageQuest

HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S.federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content. This online database is an essential collection of unique material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Researchers can use HeritageQuest Online to find their ancestors, trace their paths across America, and learn what life was like in the areas where they settled.

Database Link

History Reference Center

Features the full text of more than 650 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books, as well as nearly 60 leading history periodicals; historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps; and hours of historical film and video.

Database Link

History Resource Center: U.S.

A complete overview of U.S. history, covering the most-studied events, issues and current information.

Database Link

History Resource Center: World

History Resource Center: World brings together a broad collection of full-text periodicals, reference works, primary documents and scholarly analysis. It offers relevant information that students and researchers need while also improving their digital research skills.

Database Link

Hoover's Company Records

Features profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, Hoover’s Company Records provides easy access to the most thorough and up-to-date business information available. This comprehensive database gives users the whole picture, including: Company overview, Company history, Officers and board members, Competitors, Products and operations, Auditors, Rankings, Related industry information, and Historical financials.

Database Link| Home Access Link

Informe

This electronic resource is the first to provide indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines, not just translations. Other features include a thesaurus and title annotations in both English and Spanish. The bilingual approach also helps non-Spanish speaking staff, students of Spanish and non-native speakers.

Este recurso electrónico es la primera en facilitar la indexación, las imágenes y el texto completo de las populares revistas hispanas; no sólo las traducciones. Otras características incluyen un diccionario de sinónimos y anotaciones de títulos en inglés y español. También, el enfoque bilingüe ayuda al personal que no hablan español, los estudiantes del español o personas cuyo primer idioma no es inglés.

Database Link

Infotrac Newsstand

This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields, eliminating random searching through newspaper archives. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Financial Times (London), The New York Times, The Times (London), USA Today and many others.

Database Link

Issues and Controversies

Issues and Controversies helps researchers understand the crucial issues we face today, exploring more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.

Database Link

Issues and Controversies American History

This database builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped the United States by exploring the issues as the key players saw them. Each in-depth exploration delivers dynamic, concise, and balanced coverage that provides the background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for the major topics in every American history curriculum.

Database Link

Kids Infobits

Kids InfoBits is a database for students in kindergarten through grade 5. It features a kid-friendly graphic interface with full-text content from elementary reference sources and magazines. Kids InfoBits covers geography, current events, the arts and sciences, people, government, history, and more.

Database Link

Latino American Experience

This comprehensive, informative, easy to use online resource marks the first-ever database dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos – the largest and fastest-growing group in the U.S. The Latino American Experience features over 200 volumes of unique content, including Spanish language content and hundreds of primary source documents: maps, images, audio clips, interviews, music files, speeches, documents, and other material in English and Spanish, plus links to Web sites.

Database Link | Home Access Link

Learning Express Library

Learning Express Library is an interactive online learning platform featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math, for all ages.

Database Link

Lexis Nexis Library Express

Provides full-text documents from business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.

Database Link

LitFinder

LitFinder provides access to primary literature content, including the full-text of poems, short stories, essays, speeches, and plays. Some works may only be available as citations or excerpts.  LitFinder also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.  The database is international in scope and covers all time periods.

Database Link

Merrian-Webster's Dictionary Online

The most complete historical record of the English language and the largest dictionary of the English language.

Database Link| Home Access Link

Morningstar

Morningstar, Inc. is a leading provider of independent investment research in North America, Europe, Australia, and Asia. We offer an extensive line of products and services for individuals, financial advisors, and institutions.

Database Link

National Newspapers Premier

ProQuest National Newspapers Premier includes a balance of national and regional newspapers chosen for their journalistic excellence and regional representation. All titles are available in full text. Papers include national titles such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post along with a selection of titles from across the U.S. such as the South Florida Sun Sentinel, Minneapolis Star Tribune, Denver Post, The Sacramento Bee plus other U.S. papers.

Database Link

Natural Standard

Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains three sub-databases: Herbs & supplements, condition center, and alternative modalities. For each therapy covered by Natural Standard, a research team gathers scientific data and expert opinions. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence.

Database Link| Home Access Link

 

Natural Standard October 2012 Newsletter: (click below)

http://naturalstandard.com/newsletter/102012.pdf

 

 

 

New York Online Virtual Electronic Library

New York Online Virtual Electronic Library Just log on to www.NOVELNEWYORK.ORG with your New York driver license, non-driver ID, or local library card.  This online library has accessible information 24 HOURS A DAY, 7 DAYS A WEEK from your desktop. A wide variety of resources − books, magazines, newspapers, research and reference sources and more are available to New York State residents with NO FEES 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Database Link

New York Times Historical

Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.

Database Link

Newsday

Full-text of the Long Island daily newspaper Newsday from 1985 to present.

Database Link| Home Access Link

Novelist

This is a fiction database with over 120,000 titles, 90,000 full-text reviews and 36,000 subject headings that allows you to search by title, author, plot and series name. It also gives annotations, author readalikes, booklists, book discussion guides, booktalks and feature articles.
Database Link

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues.  Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Database Link

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online covers all aspects of visual art and contains articles, images, artist biographies and reference resource entries. It includes Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Database Link

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is a new gateway that offers users the ability to access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford’s music reference in one location. Contains the redesigned Grove Music Online, as well as The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Database Link

PROMT

Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use this database to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports. A large number of industries, activities, and organizations are covered.  Cultural and not-for-profit organizations are covered as well.

Database Link

ProQuest Computing Journals

Search top computing journals in full text for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.

Database Link| Home Access Link

ProQuest Health Management

Combining full-text coverage for more than 550 journals with over 4,500 doctoral dissertations and theses, this database provides reliable information on a wide range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business and personnel management, ethics, economics, and public-health administration.

Database Link| Home Access Link

ProQuest Professional Education Journals

Search professional magazines and periodicals related to all aspects of education and education-related issues.

Database Link| Home Access Link

ProQuest Research Library

From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. ProQuest Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals; plus 15 supplemental subject-specific modules.

Database Link

Science in Context

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Database Link

Science Online

A comprehensive, curriculum oriented overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines in a variety of formats. The accessible content is organized by subject area and type of resource, as well as by national and state science education standards.

Database Link

Sesame Street e-Books

Sesame Workshop, has partnered with Impelsys to convert many Sesame Street books into eBooks. Sesame Workshop now offers content in the most innovative, engaging and user friendly formats appealing to both children and their parents. The online portal offers more than one hundred eBooks with new titles being added on a regular basis. The eBooks feature audio narration, interactivity and animation bringing popular Sesame Street characters to life.

Database Link| Home Access Link

Spanish Reference Center

Spanish Reference Center provides both PlanetaSaber and the Enciclopedia Juvenil. PlanetaSaber features the Gran Enciclopedia Planeta, an encyclopedia in the Spanish language, including over 145,000 encyclopedia articles, more than 10,000 maps, photos, and media pieces, and 8,000 Internet links.  Also includes a visual navigator, interactive atlas, and multilanguage dictionary.  Enciclopedia Juvenil, for younger ages, helps students sharpen their language skills while they learn new lessons.

Database Link| Home Access Link

Student Resource Center-Health Module

A curriculum oriented health database that provides a one-stop resource for all health research needs.

Database Link

Testing & Education Reference Center

Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC) is designed to help students — in high school, graduate school, and specialty school and beyond — make their future education decisions easier. TERC is loaded with information on colleges, technical schools, practice entrance exams, and certification and professional license exams that show students what to expect and how to prepare for the next level. The Resume Builder and Virtual Career Library make TERC perfect for job seekers by providing specific examples and tips for the job search.

Database Link

The Financial Times

The Financial Times, one of the world’s leading business news organisations, is recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. Provides extensive news, comment and financial analysis.

Database Link

The New Book of Knowledge

The New Book of Knowledge is for middle grade students and includes literary selections, a timeline, projects and experiments, news, homework help and more.

Database Link| Home Access Link

The Student Resource Center – Bronze

Gives students the power of knowledge, which will help them excel in the arts/humanities, computers/technology, government, health/sports, interdisciplinary/multicultural studies, language arts/English, math/business, science and social studies/history.

Database Link

TrueFlix

trueflixTrueFlix is an online resource that combines award-winning True Books content with reading supports and a deep and diverse collection of related videos, images, Web links, and text. TrueFlix is based on the True Books print series published by Children’s Press, an imprint of Scholastic Library Publishing. TrueFlix is published by Scholastic Inc., with editorial development, content management, and engineering provided by Scholastic Digital Learning Solutions.

Library Database Link
Remote Database Link

Tumble Book Cloud

TumbleBookCloudTumbleBookCloud is a collection of videos and chapter books in categories which include: Ebooks, Read-Alongs, Graphic Novels, Videos (from National Geographic!), and Audio Books. Our books feature adjustable text sizes, full narration, and a read-along function which highlights text as it is read. These features make TumbleBookCloud a great tool for reluctant readers and ESL students. Plus, all these options can be switched to manual so readers can read at their own pace.

Database Link

Tumble Book Cloud Junior

TumbleBook Cloud JuniorTumbleBookCloud Junior is our collection of early reader chapter books, children’s classics, graphic novels, children’s audio books and new National Geographic videos – many of which are paired with our e-books – a perfect complement to support Common Core Curriculum!

Database Link

Tutor.com

Tutor.com is an online tutoring service which provides real-time tutoring for students of all ages with homework, writing assignments, SAT preparation, and other educational support.

Database Link

Twaynes Authors Series

A literary resources which includes the full-text of the Twayne’s U.S. Authors, Twayne’s English Authors, and Twayne’s World Authors. Covers hundreds of significant writers around the world.

Database Link

Universal Class

Universal Class users register online, participate in the classes online at their own pace, correspond with instructors online and have up to six months to complete an individual class.

Database Link| Registration Link

World Book

Access over 31,000 encyclopedia articles, 6,000 web links, 25,000 periodical articles, 800 videos, animations, and sounds, 400 interactive maps, 100 3-D bubble views, and much more.

Database Link

World Data Analyst

World Data Analyst offers detailed statistical comparisons of countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures. One create tables, charts, export the information to a spreadsheet for printing and data crunching, and also link to country articles in Encyclopedia Britannica.

Database Link| Home Access Link

World News Digest

World News Digest brings together seven decades of news from the Facts On File World News Digest in print. This unique archival record of domestic and international news, unrivaled for its depth, breadth, and accuracy, covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. World News Digest is updated twice weekly and includes a searchable hourly newsfeed.

Database Link

Zinio

Zinio is the world’s largest newsstand and bookstore. With its many digital products and services, Zinio creates better ways for people to discover published content, get more of it and do more with it.

 

Database Link